(2011, Entr’acte)
CD/ digital

  1. Artifacts — ARTIFACTS (I) (8.01)
  2. Artifacts — artifact 1 (1.20)
  3. Artifacts — ARTIFACTS (II) (2.02)
  4. Artifacts — ARTIFACTS (III) (2.46)
  5. Artifacts — artifact 2 (0.59)
  6. Artifacts — artifact 3 (1.53)
  7. Artifacts — artifact(s) (2.47)
  8. Artifacts — ARTIFACTS (IV) (8.00)
  9. Indices of Refraction (14.04)
  10. Outside, Summer is Bursting at the Seams (4.35)

Rife is Nick Storring’s recorded debut. It contains three electronic works: Artifacts (2007–9); Indices of Refraction (2005–11); Outside, Summer is Bursting at the Seams

Artifacts, in eight parts, draws its source material entirely from a near-broken student-grade violin that was given to Storring by his grandmother prior to him beginning cello lessons at age four. The instrument became mostly a wall ornament for the best part of 22 years, until the composition of this piece. Given the quality and decrepitude of the instrument, it meant the sonic possibilities were quite open: from tuning the instrument up and bowing/pluck­ing, to moving the bridge around, to scraping the varnish off with a microphone (the opening of the first section) to tapping the body, and even shuffling the instrument across the floor. To match this wide array of sounds, various types of processing were also employed: everything from ‘proper’ computer manipulation to the recording onto a dictaphone whose power supply was short­ing out.

The first section of the work won the 2008 Jeux de Temps/ Times Play competition for emerging electroacoustic Canadian composers and subsequently led to the piece being played at various electroacoustic music festivals across the world. The entire 28-minute work made its debut at the 2010 Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium.


Various press compiled on the Entr’acte site
Aaron Levin, Weird Canada
Chris Kennedy, Musicworks
Brian Olewnick, Just Outside